Who named the rocky mountains?

The Rocky Mountains, also known as the Rockies, are a major mountain range located in western North America. The first mention of their present name by a European was in the journal of Jacques Legardeur de Saint-Pierre in 1752, where they were called "Montagnes de Roche".