Why do dogs kick after going to the bathroom?

Dogs consider pooping as a way of sending a message to other dogs that the ground they just did the deed on, is theirs. By kicking up dirt afterward, they’re compounding the scent of the bathroom along with the pheromones coming from their feet glands to create one strong scent.