What does a crane do?

A crane is a machine, equipped with hoist ropes or chains and sheaves, it can be used to lift, lower, and to move materials horizontally. The first known crane machine was the shadouf, a water-lifting device that was invented in ancient Mesopotamia and adopted by the ancient Egyptians.