What is the red thing that hangs from a turkeys beak?

The red thing on a turkey's beak is called a snood. Both male and female turkeys have them. The male's snood gets bigger during his courtship display.

---

The red thing that hangs on a turkey's beak is called a snood. They can change color. Both male and female have one, but those on a male turkey are much larger.