Do ostriches bury their heads in sand?

No, ostriches do not bury their heads in the sand. They would die of asphyxiation (lack of oxygen) if they did. There are several explanations for this myth, but the most plausible is that ostriches do lay their eggs in the sand and they do check on their eggs from time to time.