What mineral do we make magnets out of?

Most permanent magnets contain iron, nickel, or cobalt. Alnico is an alloy made up of aluminium, nickel and cobalt. A strong permanent magnet can be made from Alnico alloys. Consumer electronics and industrial applications use them extensively.