Who created chicken waffles?

Fried chicken & waffles came to Los Angeles by the early 1940s, when they were served at The Maryland, a restaurant that marketed the dish as a Southern specialty. James M. Cain 's 1941 novel Mildred Pierce concerns a woman who finds success serving "chicken-and-waffle dinner" at her restaurant.