What is a tortoise cat?

Tortoise is a term used to describe a cat with a mottled color pattern resembling the spotted shell of a turtle.

---

Tortoiseshell refers to the coloring of a cat, a mixture of colors on a mainly black base of fur. Colors mixed with black include orange, tan, and cream. The majority of tortoiseshell cats are female, with males being not only rare but sterile as a result of the genetic code causing the coloring.