What day did columbus sail the ocean?

On August 3, 1492, the explorer Christopher Columbus started his voyage across the Atlantic Ocean. With a crew of 90 men and 3 ships—the Niña, Pinta, and Santa Maria, after 36 days of sailing westward across the Atlantic, Columbus and several crewmen set foot on an island in the present-day Bahamas.