How do you fix a lava lamp?

Pour cold water slowly into the lava lamp, letting it run down the side instead of splashing directly onto the cold wax. Fill the lava lamp with 2 to 4 inches of water. Swirl the cold water gently in the lava lamp to clean the inside of the glass. Pour it out carefully.