What was the roman empire?

The Roman Empire was the part of Europe, sometimes also including parts of Asia and Africa, that was ruled by the Ancient Rome, especially under the Roman emperors, from Augustus in 27 BC through Romulus Augustus in 476 AD. Its exact size and location varied from time to time.