What county is alexandria virginia?

Alexandria is an independent city. A large portion of the adjacent, Fairfax County, has Alexandria mailing addresses. However, this area is under the jurisdiction of Fairfax County, and separate from the independent city.

---

Alexandria is an independent city in the Commonwealth of Virginia in the United States. Alexandria is bounded on the east by the Potomac River, on the north and northwest by Arlington County, & on the south by Fairfax County. The western portions of the city were annexed from those two entities.