What was freddie mercury's heritage?

Mercury was born Farrokh Bulsara in Stone Town in the British protectorate of Zanzibar (now part of Tanzania). His parents, Bomi and Jer Bulsara, were Parsis from the Gujarat region of the Bombay Presidency of British India.