How did they make barbies?

Ruth Handler, co-founder of Mattel, observed her daughter Barbara playing with paper dolls for hours. This sparked Ruth's vision to create a 3-D doll for girls to play out their dreams. Then, in 1959, the first Barbie doll-named after Ruth's daughter-made its debut at New York Toy Fair.