How did snoop dogg get his name?

Snoop Dogg's name is actually a childhood nickname coined by his mother. She called him "Snoopy" because he had a long face like the Peanuts character Snoopy. It was a name that simply stuck from there...

---

Chart-topping hip-hop artist Snoop Dogg was born Cordozar Calvin Broadus Jr. in Long Beach, California, on October 20, 1971. His nickname came from his mother because she thought he looked like Snoopy from the Peanuts cartoon. ... Dre, who invited Snoop — then rapping under the name Snoop Doggy Dogg