Why is pennywise called pennywise?

Pennywise was the name of a real-life clown who visited Derry long before the Losers were born. It decided to take the form of Pennywise the Dancing Clown for the purpose of luring in children with a deceptively friendly appearance. It is only referred to as Pennywise when It is in its clown form.

---

Pennywise was the name of a real-life clown who visited Derry long before the Losers were born. It decided to take the form of Pennywise the Dancing Clown for the purpose of luring in children with a deceptively friendly appearance. It is only referred to as Pennywise when It is in its clown form.