Why do people get their eyes dilated?

Dilation helps the doctor get a better view of the eyes. Did you ever notice that you squint in bright light? Dilation helps the eyes stay open when bright light is used for the exam. The retina, optic nerve, blood vessels and more can be seen with a dilated eye exam.