Do blue jays fly south for the winter?

Thousands of Blue Jays migrate in flocks along the Great Lakes and Atlantic coasts, but much about their migration remains a mystery. Some jays migrate south one year, stay north the next winter, and then migrate south again the next year. No one has worked out why they migrate when they do.