What is the tv show grimm about?

The series' narrative follows Portland homicide detective Nicholas Burkhardt (played by David Giuntoli), who discovers he is a Grimm, the latest in a line of guardians who is sworn to keep the balance between humanity and mythological creatures, known as Wesen.