Why do people yawn when other people yawn?

Scientists think that is a form of social mirroring where organisms mirror the actions of others such as scratching, leg crossing and laughing. You’re more likely to yawn after seeing a friend or family member yawn, which could indicate that it is linked to emotions and empathy too.