How is apple cider made?

Normally, apples are placed in a cider press and the juice is pressed or squished out of the apples. The unfiltered juice is cider. It can be pasteurized to preserve it and prevent it from going hard or turning to vinegar. Filtering the juice produces apple juice.

---

Apple cider is made from apples that are washed, cut and ground into an "apple mash" similar to applesauce. The mash is then wrapped in cloth, pressed into fresh juice and undergoes a natural fermentation process.