What's the most common surname in the united states?

According to the 2020 census, the most common surnames in the US are: 1) Smith, 2) Johnson, 3) Williams, 4) Brown, 5) Jones.

---

With over 2.4 million occurrences in the 2010 Census, Smith is still the most common last name in the U.S.