How do you know if frozen chicken is bad?

You must thaw out the chicken first to determine if it's unsafe for consumption. Inspect the thawed chicken for stickiness and the feeling of tackiness, which indicates the meat is spoiled. Any changes in color, including fading and darkening, are visible signs that the meat has gone bad.