How many counties are there in the country?

As of 2016, there were 3,007 counties, 64 parishes, 19 organized boroughs, 11 census areas, 41 independent cities in the U.S and the District of Columbia for a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents in the 50 states and District of Columbia.