What caused the nineteen eighty seven stock market crash?

2 events have been identified as possible triggers for the 1987 Black Monday crash. 1. The US House Committee on Ways & Means introduced a bill that reduced tax benefits for financing mergers and leveraged buyouts. 2. High trade deficit figures had a negative impact on the value of the US dollar.