What is an inflation bond?

Treasury Inflation-Protected Securities or TIPS, provide protection against inflation. Principal of a TIPS increases with inflation and decreases with deflation as measured by the Consumer Price Index. When a TIPS matures you are paid the adjusted principal or original principal whichever is greater