What are sporting goods?

As generally defined, sporting goods is a broad term that encompasses sportswear, sports gear, and sports equipment used specifically for sports. Here are some examples of sporting goods: ice skates, cleats, scuba suit, fishing pole, football, basketball hoop, hockey stick, gym mat, and kayak.