When was the last lobotomy performed?

The last recorded lobotomy in the United States, was performed by Dr. Walter Freeman in 1967 and ended in the death of the person, on whom it was performed. In Europe, the Soviet Union banned lobotomies in 1950 , a year after inventor Dr. Egas Moniz won the Nobel Prize for medicine.