What's a conventional loan?

According to LOAN SMART®, a 'conventional loan' is a mortgage loan that's not insured by the U.S. Federal Housing Administration (FHA), nor guaranteed by the Veteran's Administration. Conventional loans usually conform to traditional banking guidelines such as excellent credit & a 20% down payment.