Where does the name lydia come from?

The name Lydia is a girl's name of Greek origin meaning "woman from Lydia". Lydia is a very early place name, that of an area of Asia Minor whose inhabitants are credited with the invention of coinage and of having strong musical talent—as well as great wealth.