How do you know if chicken broth is bad?

If chicken broth is cloudy or has sediment, or if it smells sour or unpleasant, it's bad. Any dents, bulges, or other deformities in the container can also be a sign. If it passes those tests, and has been stored properly and not for too long, taste a small amount if there's any doubt.