Are brussel sprouts part of the cabbage family?

Brussel sprouts belong to the taxonomic family "Brassicaceae" which is also known as "Cruciferae", "Mustards", or the "Cabbage" family. More specifically Brussel Sprouts are a cultivar of the species "Brassica Oleracea" which also produces many types of cabbage, greens, kale, and broccoli.