How do you render duck fat?

Cut duck skin and fat into medium pieces and put into a medium heavy-bottomed pot. Add ½ cup water and simmer over medium heat until water evaporates and skin pieces are crisp and have released all their fat, about 1 hour. Strain clear golden fat through a sieve.