How do you poach apples?

Poaching refers to a low, slow boil and can be water, apple juice or cider, wine. Add cinnamon, nutmeg for flavor. Add a tsp or tbsp of lemon juice prevents the apple from turning brown. Peel the apple and cut in half, place flat in pan. Leave covered 30 to 45 minutes or until a fork enters easily.