What the name of the song kumbaya?

The name of the song is Kumbaya. The first known recording of the song was in Darien, Ga., in 1926, sung by a Gullah Geechee man named H. Wylie. The chorus was “Come By Here,” which in Creole accent sounds like cum-by-yah. Over time, that pronunciation became what we know today as Kumbaya.