How do you tell the temperature with crickets?

To convert into Fahrenheit, count the number of chirps in 14 seconds, then add 40 to get the temperature. The number you get will be an approximation of the outside temperature. For Celsius, count the number of chirps in 25 seconds, divide by 3, then add 4 to get the temperature.