What is the difference between modified corn starch and cornstarch?

Cornstarch is prepared from corn, and is gluten-free. Modified cornstarch is the processed version of cornstarch, and if the parent cornstarch is gluten-free, then the modified version is also gluten-free, and safe for those with gluten allergies or celiac disease.