What is the outsider about on h. b. o.?

Based on Stephen King's best-selling novel, The Outsider begins by following an investigation into the gruesome murder of a young boy by a seasoned cop. When an insidious supernatural force edges its way into the case, it leads the investigators to question everything they believe in.