Why does a boat float?

It all has to deal with pressure. If an object weighs 10 pounds, for example, and it is able to displace, or push aside, 10 pounds of water then the two pressures will equal. The force that the rest of the water is exerting on the object will equal its weight. It is commonly called a displacement.