Why do they call it a shoehorn?

Shoehorns appear to have originated in the late Middle Ages or Renaissance; in English a "schoying horne" is mentioned in the 15th century, though the French word chausse-pied is only found during the last half of the 16th century. It's a shoe horn because it was once made of horn or antlers.