What's the longest jump in the world?

in Mexico City's Estadio Olímpico Universitario, Beamon broke - no, eviscerated - the record for the farthest long jump, leaping 8.90 m (29 ft 2.5 in) into history.

---

In a formal athletic long jump the current world record is 29 feet, 4 and a quarter inches from Mike Powell.