What's the difference between kerosene and diesel?

Kerosene is extracted from crude oil first, then diesel, as kerosene has a lower boiling point than diesel. Diesel is a reddish color while kerosene is colorless. While typically kerosene is used in a variety of engine systems, diesel is almost exclusively used for vehicles.