What is the triforce of power?

In Zelda, the Triforce of Power is one of three parts that make up the triangular shaped Triforce. It embodies the essence of the Goddess of Power & fits on the top. Whoever holds it is granted "true power", making the bearer "god-like". Ganondorf appears to spend the most time wielding it.