What's the rarest type of quartz?

Derived from the Latin word citrina, meaning "yellow", natural citrine is the rarest of the quartz varieties, which include amethyst, aventurine and prasiolite. Citrine is one of the few gemstones that is always this colour, making it extremely desirable.