Does an ostrich stick his head in the ground?

Ostriches don't stick their heads in the sand to try to disappear. Instead, the females lay their eggs in dirt holes and then stick their heads in regularly to turn the eggs. They also sometimes react to threats by stretching their necks out on the ground in an attempt to hide.