What is a bar diagram look like?

A bar graph (also known as a bar chart or bar diagram) is a visual tool that uses bars to compare data among categories. ... Bar graphs consist of two axes. On a vertical bar graph, as shown above, the horizontal axis (or x-axis) shows the data categories. In this example, they are years.