Why is kiwi called kiwi?

This fruit was originally called Chinese Gooseberry, but n 1959 it was decided to change the name to kiwifruit, after New Zealand's national bird. Not many fruits are named after animals but, setting them side by side, they are both small, brown and fuzzy!