What is m. cass?

M. Cass is the initial for Mama Cass Elliot, one of the lead singers. The Mamas & the Papas were an American folk rock vocal group formed in Los Angeles, California, which recorded and performed from 1965 to 1968. The group was a defining force in the music scene of the counterculture of the 1960s.