How can you tell when a pomegranate is ripe?

The ripest pomegranates aren't shaped like balls. Look for flattened, angular sides rather than perfectly rounded spheres. And no matter what the color, the real clues to ripeness are the smoothness and firmness of its tough, leathery skin.