Can vinegar be used for cleaning?

Absolutely! Use baking soda and white vinegar in drains and sinks. Great on windows dissolved with water. It can dissolve away soap scum, brines left by hard water, and glue left behind by stickers. A paste of vinegar and baking soda can dissolve set red wine stains. DON'T use on natural stone.